Nolo Every Landlord's Legal Guide vs a Statute-Cited State Guide
If you want one big book for your whole landlord shelf, the Nolo paperback is a serious option, and we say so first. If you own in one of five states and want every rule tied to a statute section, a one-state guide costs less and goes narrower. This page sets out what a retailer listing shows about the book, what we know about ours, and who should buy which.
What the Nolo book is
A retailer listing for Every Landlord’s Legal Guide (the listing we read) shows the 18th edition, published by NOLO on 28 July 2026, as a $44.99 paperback of 560 pages, with an eBook and an audio version also mentioned. The listing says the book is “completely updated to provide your state's current laws on security deposits, rent, entry, termination, late rent notices”. It lists no states and shows no statute citations.
We have not read the book. Everything above comes from that listing, and the page we read does not say how the book is organised or which states it covers.
NOLO also publishes a California-specific title, California Landlord’s Law Book: Rights & Responsibilities. A retailer listing (the second listing) shows it was published on 9 May 2023 at $44.99 and 496 pages, and that it covers state rent control plus a local rent-control chart. We found no newer edition. That is a fact about the edition date, not a verdict on its contents.
Side by side
| Nolo Every Landlord’s Legal Guide | Hexloom state guide | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Paperback landlord guide, 18th edition, 560 pages (retailer listing) | Web guide for self-managing owners of 1-4 units, 2026 edition, one state per guide |
| Price | $44.99 paperback (retailer listing); eBook and audio prices not stated on the page we read | $29 one-time, per state |
| Formats | Paperback; the listing also mentions eBook and audio | Web guide delivered right after checkout, no account, no PDF promised |
| Covers which states | Not stated on the page we read | California, Florida, Texas, Arizona or Michigan, one guide each; no guide yet for other states |
| Statute citations | None shown on the listing; book contents not verified | Every rule cited to the statute (Cal. Civil Code, Fla. Stat., Tex. Prop. Code, A.R.S., MCL) |
| Date or updates statement | Published 28 July 2026; a statute check date is not stated on the page we read | Each guide states the date it was last checked against the statute text |
| Includes forms | Not stated on the listing we read | Ready-to-copy notices and checklists |
| What it will not do | Not stated on the page we read | Does not generate leases or forms-to-sign; not legal advice; no substitute for a landlord-tenant attorney in a dispute or eviction |
Where they are better
- Brand. Many landlords know the Nolo name, and that is a fair reason to choose a book.
- Breadth. 560 pages is a lot of room. The listing’s wording mentions deposits, rent, entry, termination and late rent notices.
- Formats. Paperback on a shelf, plus eBook and audio. Ours is web-only.
- Your state. If you own outside California, Florida, Texas, Arizona and Michigan, we have no guide yet, and a book that covers your state is the only one of the two that can help.
Where we are better
- Single-state depth. Each guide is about one state’s statute. We cannot tell from the listing how the book divides its pages between states.
- Price. $29 one-time against a listed $44.99 paperback. The formats differ, so this is a price comparison, not a like-for-like one.
- A statute citation for every rule. You can check each rule against the Cal. Civil Code, Fla. Stat., Tex. Prop. Code, A.R.S. or MCL section it comes from.
- A stated check date. Each guide says when it was last checked against the statute text.
- Recent changes we state. Our Texas guide covers the rules in force since SB 38 (1 Jan 2026), and our Michigan guide cites MCL 554.609 as amended by 2026 PA 102. We cannot say whether the Nolo book covers either, because we have not read it.
Which should you buy?
- Buy the Nolo book if you own in several states or outside our five, want paper or audio, or simply trust the brand more.
- Buy ours if you self-manage 1-4 units in one of the five states and want every rule tied to a statute section, a stated check date and ready-to-copy notices at $29.
- Buy both if you want the book for breadth and a one-state guide as a citation-by-citation reference.
Before you buy either, open the sample pages. The retailer listing we read shows no statute citations and no list of states, and we have not read the book, so check what is actually inside it for your state. Ours is informational, not legal advice, and neither product replaces an attorney if you are in a dispute or an eviction.
Facts about other products were taken from the pages linked above on 5 October 2026; check them before you buy.
Sources
- Every Landlord's Legal Guide, 18th ed. (retailer listing)
- California Landlord's Law Book (retailer listing)
The guides:
Informational only, not legal advice. Hexloom Labs sells one of the products compared on this page; we have tried to be fair and corrections are welcome through the support page.